Decree Reorganizes Deaneries of the Archdiocese


On Oct. 1, 2021, Cardinal Dolan issued a decree made public on the archdiocesan website ( that day, reorganizing the deaneries in the Archdiocese of New York and reducing their number from 19 to 12.


The new deaneries, with the number of parishes in each, are as follows:


1) Staten Island Deanery (25 parishes)

2) South Manhattan Deanery (43 parishes)

3) North Manhattan Deanery (21 parishes)

4) West Bronx Deanery (28 parishes)

5) East Bronx Deanery (20 parishes)

6) South Westchester Deanery (44 parishes)

7) North Westchester Deanery (22 parishes)

8) Dutchess/Putnam Deanery (22 parishes)

9) Rockland Deanery (14 parishes)

10) Orange Deanery (21 parishes)

11) Ulster Deanery (14 parishes)

12) Sullivan Deanery (10 parishes)


The decree explained that Msgr. Joseph LaMorte, the vicar general of the archdiocese, had reported on May 20 to the meeting of regional bishops of the need to “reduce and combine the deaneries.”


On June 24, the College of Consultors heard a report on the proposed new deanery boundaries and agreed with the proposed changes. The same day, the Presbyteral Council was provided with copies of maps depicting the proposed new deanery boundaries, heard a report on the proposed new deaneries and agreed with the changes.


On June 25, consultation was expanded to the deans and all priests of the archdiocese via an email from Msgr. LaMorte, and all were provided with copies of maps depicting the proposed new deanery boundaries.


The decree, signed by Cardinal Dolan and John P. Cahill, chancellor of the archdiocese, became effective immediately on Oct. 1.


An updated list of deans in the archdiocese will be published in a subsequent issue of Catholic New York.