Most Holy Redeemer Church in Manhattan’s East Village was designated by Cardinal Francis Spellman as a Pilgrimage Shrine in 1966. Built by German immigrants in 1851, its grandiosity led to it often being referred to as the "German Cathedral" of New York. It is home to two unique and magnificent chapels. One is dedicated to Our Mother of Perpetual Help and the other, known as the Chapel of Relics, contains the full body of the martyr St. Datian along with the relics of 150 other saints.
On Oct. 30, parishioners of St. Ann’s in Ossining made a remarkable pilgrimage to Most Holy Redeemer. Led by their pastor, Father Elvin Rivera, 100 parishioners walked 33 miles over 11 hours through the cold, wind and rain. They arrived at 9 a.m. when Father Rivera presented their written petitions to Our Mother of Perpetual Help, placing them on the altar in the chapel dedicated to her. After Mass, parishioners of Most Holy Redeemer-Nativity provided the pilgrims with the hospitality of much deserved coffee, hot chocolate and sandwiches, grateful for their inspiring witness of true devotion in making such a pilgrimage.