Deans Appointed in the Archdiocese 


After extensive consultation among the auxiliary bishops, vicars forane, college of consultors, members of the presbyteral council, priests, administrative staff and cabinet, Cardinal Dolan issued a Decree on the Reorganization of the Deaneries in the Archdiocese of New York Oct. 1. 

The new deaneries were made public on the archdiocesan website, and published in the Oct. 21 issue of Catholic New York. 

The deans, who were appointed to a three-year term, effective Nov. 1, are:

Father Edward W. Bader, VF, Sullivan County

Msgr. William J. Belford, VF, Staten Island

Msgr. Donald M. Dwyer, VF, Lower Westchester

Msgr. Joseph R. Giandurco, VF, Upper Westchester

Msgr. John K. Graham, VF, Bronx East

Father Joseph M. McLafferty, VF, Dutchess and Putnam Counties

Father Peter Mushi, A.J., VF, Manhattan North

Msgr. Kevin J. Nelan, VF, Manhattan South

Msgr. Emmet R. Nevin, VF, Rockland County

Father Dennis A. Nikolic, VF, Orange County

Msgr. Desmond G. O’Connor, VF, Ulster County

Father Enrique F. Salvo, VF, Bronx West

The letters VF after the names of the deans stand for Vicar Forane, which is a priest in charge of a subdivision of an archdiocese. Additionally, all of the deans are serving as pastors of parishes in the archdiocese.